Skip to main content

Kriya Yoga

Kriya yoga involves techniques of meditation that cause the energy or Prana to move in certain ways, to awaken the Kundalini, the coiled up energy at the base of the spine. Kriya yoga channelizes the energy forces in the Kundalini instead of merely controlling the mind. It is important that the Kundalini is activated through performance of asanas, practice of pranayama and making a conscious effort to guide this awakened energy in the spine and allowing it to immerse in the crown chakra.

You can do Kriya yoga on your own. You don’t need any teacher or Guru for that.  Only thing you should do the Kriya very slowly and in a very very relax manner. In the beginning don’t do many kriyas on the same day. Progress gradually, slowly and consistently.

The ultimate goal of Kriya yoga for begginers is to attain supreme consciousness through Navi Kriya, Yoni Mudra, Maha Mudra, Spinal breathing and 3rd Eye Meditation; it is a method to prevent fluctuations of the mind. The practice of kriya yoga cleanses and heal the mind and body. It uplifts the consciousness of the seeker. As most people live only on three levels of consciousness – material, egoistic and sensual – kriya yoga opens us to higher levels of consciousness. It teaches the seeker to locate the different centers of the spine and meditate on them, thereby transforming the consciousness.

Kriya Yoga involves concentration techniques to move energy in certain ways for the purpose of awakening dormant forces to be used along the evolutionary path. These forces are somewhat magical in their nature and should only be used by an adept for dharmic purposes, healing or helping others along the spiritual path. Other names by which this yoga is known are Kundalini yoga and Tantra. Knowledge about the energy centers known as Chakras are contained in this realm of yoga. Methods and techniques such as the kriya Yoga are used to move energy from the base of the spine to the mind to attain higher levels of consciousness.
There are five specific steps in kriya yoga.

  • Navi Kriya (or nabhi kriya) is done into Navi chakra in front – location as your navel – and Manipura chakra on your back. Note that manipura chakra is higher than navi chakra.
  • Tilt your head forward to touch your chin and repeat 25 OM just two inch below the navel.Then tilt your head back as comfortably as you can and and repeat 35 OM into manipura chakra.
  • You may perform some navel exercise before doing Kriya Yoga:

Kriya Yoga Naval Exercise

Kriya Yoga Techniques:

1st Kriya:

Nabhi Kriya:

The yogi should mentally slowly chant ‘Om’ 15 times,  concentrating just below the navel.

The yogi should mentally chant ‘Om’ 25 times, concentrating on the back of the navel.

The yogi should mentally chant ‘Om’ 35 times, concentrating at the back of the neck.

2nd Kriya :

The yogi should mentally chant ‘Om’ 15 times, along the imaginary tube of the spine, up and down.

The yogi should mentally chant ‘Om’ 35 times, concentrating on the point between the eyebrows.

3rd Kriya :

Maha Mudra:  Alternatively sit on your one foot, and try to touch your other toe.

4th Kriya:

3rd Eye Meditation: Imagine a circular light in the forehead. Very slowly do pranava japa along the circumference of the circle.  Do this for few minutes and feel the sensations on the forehead and then feel the sensations on whole body.



Kristin Russel

Kristin Russel is a certified yoga teacher, nutritionist, independent medical researcher, natural health consultant and author of many books. She marries the best of yoga, meditation, Ayurveda, nutrition science, and western medicine to help people get to the root of their imbalances and find optimal health. She is the author of many holistic health books including Beautiful hair: natural care, Yoga for Hair Growth and Yoga for Glowing Skin. She is a Wellness Specialist, Soul-Coach. She creates personalized packages for corporate and individuals seeking wellness solutions and adventure travel for the soul.